Guidebooks by Bryan Hugh St John O’Neil

Audley End
Audley End (1955)

Bryan Hugh St John O’Neil (1905-54) was appointed Assistant Inspector of Ancient Monuments in 1930, and succeeded Ralegh Radford as Inspector in Wales in 1936.  He followed Bushe-Fox as Chief Inspector of Ancient Monuments in 1945.

His Ministry guidebooks included:

  • Criccieth Castle (1934)
  • Dartmouth Castle (1934)
  • Peveril Castle (1934)
  • Clifford’s Tower (1936)
  • Talley Abbey (1938)
  • New Castle, Bridgend (1949)
  • Walmer Castle (1949)
  • Isles of Scilly (1949)
  • Scalloway Castle (1950)
  • Audley End (1950)
  • Caerlaverock Castle (1952)
  • Deal Castle (1953)
  • Castles (1954)

His guidebooks included sites in England (Dartmouth Castle, Peveril Castle, Clifford’s Tower, Walmer Castle, The Isles of Scilly, Audley End, and Deal Castle), Wales (Criccieth Castle, Talley Abbey, New Castle), and Scotland (Scalloway Castle, Caerlaverock Castle).

Author: David Gill

David Gill is Honorary Professor in the Centre for Heritage at the University of Kent, and Honorary Research Fellow in the School of History and an Academic Associate in SISJAC at UEA; Professor of Archaeological Heritage.

2 thoughts on “Guidebooks by Bryan Hugh St John O’Neil”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: