A Guide to the Abbeys of England and Wales

2nd ed. 1976
2nd ed. 1976

An illustrated guide to the Abbeys of England and Wales formed number 7 in the series (following no. 6 on Castles). The text was by R. Gilyard-Beer, formerly Assistant Chief Inspector of Ancient Monuments. The first edition appeared in 1959, and the second edition in 1976 (Department of the Environment). The guide has two main section: The Monks (covering the different orders) and The Buildings (looking at the elements of monastic buildings). There are comprehensive series of plans allowing the reader to understand the architectural parts of abbeys.

He also prepared a series of guidebooks for the Ministry of Works, MPBW, and the DOE:

  • Gisborough Priory, originally Yorkshire, subsequently Redcar and Cleveland (1935)
  • (with Rose Graham) Monk Bretton Priory, Yorkshire (1955)
  • Abingdon County Hall (1956)
  • Cleeve Abbey, Somerset (1959)
  • Shap Abbey, Cumbria (1963)
  • Spofforth Castle, Yorkshire (1965)
  • Fountains Abbey, Yorkshire (1970)
  • Creake Abbey, Norfolk (1970)

Author: David Gill

David Gill is Honorary Professor in the Centre for Heritage at the University of Kent, and Honorary Research Fellow in the School of History and an Academic Associate in SISJAC at UEA; Professor of Archaeological Heritage.

2 thoughts on “A Guide to the Abbeys of England and Wales”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: